7 steps to creating a painting

More often than not when I am speaking to a client, it is assumed that after I have an idea for a piece, I then put brush to canvas and off I go. However, as you can probably imagine, there is in fact so much more that goes into creating a big commission. A lot of people have asked me recently about my process so I thought I would share it in this post! 

Step 1

The first step is usually a 1–2 hour meeting with the client to find out what they are looking for. We take a look at my various painting styles, examples of past projects and the interior of the space the work will occupy. Either during that meeting or the following one, I look at the size of the intended space measuring exactly the dimensions we think are suitable.  

Step 2

After this has been discussed and decisions have been made. Namely the colour scheme, intended dimensions, subject, use of material and medium, I then start creating the canvas. Depending on the size  and canvas material this could take up to a day to prepare. 

Step 3
This then takes us to the research stage. In an ideal world, I am able to go to the place which the painting is to depict. Normally I spend 2-3 days gathering information about the place, walking through the streets and finding unique buildings. I take loads of pictures and just let myself be free and take pictures of the buildings/areas I am most drawn to. During this time I also do a few real-life sketches to capture the energy and the vibe of the place. 

Step 4

I then take all the material back to the studio and take a full day to sift through it. I gradually break it down into the photos I am most inspired by or are best suited to the piece. I then take another day to create preliminary sketches and watercolours based on these photos to get a rough idea of how it will look. However, as I normally work on a small scale it usually only creates a rough outline. 

Step 5

The size of the canvas affects how much time it takes to plan the full size painting. This, in my opinion, is one of the most important and difficult parts of the process. For my standard canvas size of 100 x 150cm this can normally take up to 3-4 days. Essentially I have to sketch up the whole piece as accurately as possible. The more detail I go into in this stage, the more detailed the final piece will be. At this stage, I also have to start thinking about which materials I am going to use and slowly but surely build up the outline of the piece. In my opinion, it’s a bit like crafting a sculpture. I have to structure and re-structure the piece over and over again so I get the composition exactly how I want it. There is a lot of craft involved.  

Step 6

Once the outline has been depicted and I am fully happy with the composition this is when the mosaic and painting starts. For a painting that is 100 x 150cm, this normally takes about 100 hours. 

After painting, it then takes a full day to do all the final touches –  such as attaching the appropriate hanging material and tidying up all the sides.
After the painting is dry-ish, we then pack it up and deliver it to the given address.

Step 7

I then prepare a Certificate of Authenticity which states that the painting is an original piece of work by myself, so that in 50, 100, 200 or 300 years –  if there is any debate about the authenticity of the work, my clients have documents to prove the work is authentic. 

I hope you have enjoyed these tips! If you are an artist and would like to share your process, please comment below – I would love to hear from you. 
If you are interested in commissioning artwork, you can find out more on my website or by getting in touch with me at natasha@artbynatashajade.com

Natasha Jade
x

Leave a comment