The Progression of ‘View from The Tate’

For many years one of my favourite spots in London has been the members room of the Tate Modern which looks out over London’s sky line. For years there has been a little sketch of this view in the back of most of my sketch books which I always carry around in my bag. After really wanting feature this view, it is only now that I have actually put paint to canvas and created a painting featuring one of my favourite views in London.

This painting captures what London feels like to me – a mixture of grand buildings in all shapes and sizes with epic sky lines and interesting shapes. I feel that the painting mirrors the diversity and electric mix that is inherent in this wonderful city.

Even though this painting has a touch of India about it, I do think it reflects London well, and for me it is extra special as it really portrays a view that I have spent many hours gazing at and letting my imagination fly free whilst sitting in the Tate Modern.

View from the tate

Leave a Reply

