The Story Behind My New Brixton Collection

My exhibition at Studio 73 in Brixton Village is now in full swing! While the exhibition is still running, I wanted to share the story and inspiration behind this new collection. The exhibition is open until 8th May so if you’re in Brixton pop in and check it out! Prints and original watercolours are now available to purchase online though my shop – click here to find out more!

About The Collection

The new collection of watercolours features areas within Brixton that locals know so well, aiming to capture an essence of Brixton now before it changes too much. For example, in one of my watercolours, I have highlighted the Brixton arches which sadly may not be with us for much longer. Using well known sites in Brixton as my subject, I have focused in on parts of the buildings that are sometimes missed. When out and about in town it is so easy to walk past a building many times and not notice the delicate and intricate details within the architecture. In these paintings, I have endeavoured to bring to life some of this fantastic architecture, hidden amongst the vibrant and quirky streets in Brixton.

Brixton Ritzy

ritzy 3 bright and bigThis black and white drawing features The Ritzy, an iconic building that is very popular in Brixton and well known amongst locals. By stripping the building down into lines and shapes, I have isolated its outline and brought it to life. When painting areas of London, I wanted to capture the London that Londoner’s know and live in, not the well known tourist sites, but rather the personal places that mean something to the people that live there.

Brixton Station View

Train station -2In this watercolour,  I have used colour to bring Brixton’s underground station to life, highlighting the parts of the buildings that called out to her. She has travelled past Brixton station many, many times and yet when she took the time to really look at the building and its surroundings, she realised how intricate and detailed some of the surrounding buildings are. She finds it fascinating how one can walk past a place many times and yet miss so many of the exciting features within the area.

Brixton Station

brixon station 4In this watercolour, I have used colour to bring Brixton’s underground station to life. I have highlighted the parts of the buildings that called out to me. I have travelled past Brixton station many, many times and yet when I took the time to really look at the building and its surroundings, I realised how intricate and detailed some of the surrounding buildings are. It fascinates me how one can walk past a place many times and yet miss so many of the exciting features within the area.

 

 

Brixton Market House

market houseThe architecture of this building really fascinated me. After walking past it many times I had failed to notice how interesting the design and shape of this building is. When I took the time to really study this building I was extremely drawn to it and wanted to create a watercolour with bright and energetic colours to reflect the vibrancy of the area.

 

Brixton Arches

Brixton archesI was very drawn to the Brixton arches and wanted to capture them before they are destroyed later this year. These arches are very well known to Brixton residents and they house diverse shops, clubs and bars. I am very, very sad to see the arches destroyed which is why I decided to capture these beautiful urban sights with ink and colour.

 

 

 

Brixton Academy

Brixton Academy is one of Brixton’s most well known buildings. In these watercolours, I have endeavoured to bring this place to life in a vibrant and bright way, echoing the vibrancy and energy that is held within its walls during event and festivals. I have created watercolours featuring Brixton Academy in colour and black and white.

Click here to view available Brixton watercolours 

Click here to view available Brixton prints. 
Natasha Jade x

 

 

Leave a Reply

