Using Alternative Materials

There are so many different ways in which alternative materials can be worked into a painting!

With very little money and a little bit of creativity one can work with almost any material available and incorporate it into a piece of art.

One of the best aspects of my job is using what I have around me and turing it into art. It surprises me how I can transform something what was once useless and just taking up space, into something that adds real value as a piece of artwork.

To help build up texture within my paintings I use CD’s, glass, old mirrors, sand, gold leaf, and even sometimes maps of the metro! Below are some images showing my use of mixed materials within my work. 

I am very inspired by Niki de Saint Phalle! Below are some images showing her use of ceramics and mirrors and other mixed materials.

Click here to view my portfolio of artwork!

Leave a Reply

