Why I based my new collection on Kahlil Gabrin’s The Prophet

I have always been inspired by the words of Khalil Gibran. I have read and then re- read this little book for years. The words fills me with such joy and inspiration.

Often when I feel stuck creativity, I look to poetry and words as a source of inspiration. For me words can be used as a way to evoke images and spark a creative idea. I often turn to The Prophet and doodle little designs which would be my interpretations of certain lines.

Within the poems there is so much wisdom that I wanted to understand this wisdom in a deeper way.  Through drawing my interpretation’s of the images I was able to dig deeper into the meaning of the poems. I think this is something one can do with any piece of writing. When we start to draw our responses we can broaden our connection and understating of a piece of writing or music. When I draw in response to music as I hear it, I find that I can understand the music on a deeper level.

I really do believe that every poem in the Prophet is filled with words of wisdom and inspiration. One of the motivations behind creating this new collection of cards was to share and introduce my interpretation of the poetry to as many people as possible and open people’s eyes to the treasure hidden within this little book. 

Below is a selection of greeting cards from the collection. Each card features a quote taken from The Prophet on the back of the card: 

df953313-86c8-4b17-b621-ddc9c64a744d

On Time: “Yet the timeless in you is aware of life’s timelessness, and knows that yesterday is but today’s memory and tomorrow is today’s dream”

4f12c9da-dcb9-4510-aa7f-0c04ad1f7cc2

On Marriage: “But let there be spaces in your togetherness, and let the winds of the Heaven’s dance between you”

107544d0-421c-40e0-8783-8d62eccf6385

On Love: “When love beckons to you follow him, Though his ways are hard and steep.”

d9f1294a-96f9-4700-a5c5-c2532c02e0db

On Work: “For if you bake bread with indifference, you bake a bitter bread that feeds but half man’s hunger”

Click here to check out the full range of greeting cards from The Prophet collection!

Leave a Reply

