The stories behind my paintings… Part 1

In this series of posts I will be revealing the stories behind some of my paintings…

Tuscany 6

img_1254_1-1.1200x0

During my childhood I spent many summer months in a little village in Southern Tuscany playing with the other village children, getting lost in the narrow streets and being captivated by the green shutters. My collection of Tuscany paintings hold many memories of those joyful years, living in a very special, historical and spiritual place. I believe the love I feel for this place and the joy I experience when I’m there, shines through.

This particular piece is inspired by artist Niki de Saint Phalle. Her famous sculpture garden is just an hour away from our village. I visited this park every time I was in the area so as a child I became very well acquainted with the vast amount of colour and texture the sculpture park held. Out of love and admiration for the work of Niki de Saint Phalle I made this painting.

Colours of a Butterfly

photo-133

This textural piece is inspired by the colours, textures and patterns that can be found on the wing of a butterfly. I have always been hugely inspired by nature and have a particular love for butterflies so I created this piece, aiming to resemble the depth and wonder of a butterfly’s wing.

Hampstead Heath

7531218_orig.1200x0-2 Since returning to the UK after travelling in India and Nepal, I spent a lot of time on Hampstead Heath, soaking up the special energy of the place and getting lost in the colours of trees and the energy of the ponds. I would often sit at the bottom of the heath near the ponds on a bench, sketching the houses on the other side.

Rajasthani Woman

raj woman

Travelling in India, I found myself sitting on top of a bus on a 6 hour journey through the desert in Rajasthan. The desert was extremely bare, only the deep yellow of the sand was visible for miles and miles. I remember being mesmerised as I saw three Rajasthani women appear from nowhere, carrying pots on their heads. They were dressed in the most exquisite saris, with huge white bangles up their arms, their presence dominating everything around them.

I was so taken aback by the prefect way in which they walked and carried the pots balanced on their heads, that I was reminded of some lines from Kahil Gibran’s most famous work, The Prophet: ‘You work so you may make peace with the earth and the soul of the earthWork is love made visible.’ I really felt that the scene of these three women was a visual representation of the meaning behind the poem.

Leave a Reply

