Buildings which have had a lasting impression on me as an artist

It has become obvious that I have an innate love of architecture and buildings. Throughout my life I have traveled to many places where I have been overwhelmed by the extraordinary buildings I have seen on my travels, some being extremely famous and others less well  known.

These particular buildings have caught my attention and left a lasting imprint in my mind. Here are a few that made a very strong impression to me as an Artist:

1) The Huddervasser house,  Austria –  an apartment house in Vienna, Austria, built after the idea and concept of Austrian artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser with architect Joseph Krawina as a co-author. This expressionist landmark of Vienna is located in the Landstraße district on the corner of Kegelgasse and Löwengasse.

hundertwasser-house-austria

2) Gaudi House – Barcelona – The complex is composed of two buildings linked by a common monumental cast iron gate adorned with Art Nouveau vegetal fantasies and a medallion with the “G” of Güell. 

gaudi-house-24235353

3) The Jodhpur Fort, India – This building completely blew my mind. With its grand nature, sitting right on top of a hill looking over the blue town of Jodhpur, the fort itself is magnificent, with beautiful arches and the most wonderful paintings inside. This is where I fist saw the collection of work ‘Garden and Cosmos’. A beautiful collection of Indian Miniature Paintings which are inspired by nature’s connection to the infinite. 

Mehrangarh-Fort-Jodhpur

images-2

 

GARDEN-AND-COSMOS-The-Roy-001

Garden and Cosmos

 

4) Neot Smadar, Isreal. This building took 17 years to build and is possibly one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. Situated in the middle of the desert this building is completely energy efficient running on the power of the wind.

semadar-art-center

I hope you have found these pictures of buildings inspiring, if you would like to see some of my artwork, inspired by buildings from around the world, click here.

Leave a Reply

